Daily Archives: June 2, 2012

Decisions, decisions…

This may be my first and last appearance on our blog because I can not promise I will be awake enough to write anything coherent after a full,fun, and furious day of sightseeing. Plus, naps are one of my favorite summer events. Well…to be honest anytime is a good time for a nap.

So…packing is not my favorite event. It brings two of my favorite things together Cute clothes and wearing the cute clothes. Therefore, traveling can limit the amount of cuteness. Evan always finds it funny that when I am shopping for anything I envision what my life would be like using that product. Seriously…today I stood in the TARGET aisle trying to ponder what kind of granola bar I’m going to feel like eating on the plane.

Having made this disclaimer, I was inspired by some of your posts on what to pack. Particularly, Ladylighttravel. Until I saw her blog, I had 7 scarfs and an entire closet ready to be packed. Now I only have 3 scarves and my clothes are more like what she calls a capsule wardrobe. I might even take out another one along with a couple more shirts as well.

The only time I have traveled overseas was when I was 15 with my beautiful cousin and her gracious and loving grand parents–Tom and Anne Selgas. We spent almost an entire month in a huge villa in Lucca,Italy. I have such sweet and fond memories of that time and will never be able to repay them or my cousin, Meagan for asking me to come along for the adventure. However, one memory I lack, is whether I brought too little or too much of my belongings because so much of those memories has been clouded by losing our luggage as soon as we got there. So my first memory of Italy, was shopping for clothes and finding them at a super market type grocery store. Needless to say, even though I did enjoy getting to shop as soon as I got there I do not want to have to go through that again. So below is my carry on and belongings that I plan on taking.

Clothes (I decided to use peach and navy as my main colors)

  • 10 tops – both short and long sleeve
  • Kakhis, linnen pants, and capris
  • Brown skirt
  • Blue dress (never seems to wrinkle no matter how tight Evan rolls it up)
  • Shorts and PJ’s
  • Sandals, flipflops, and walking shoes
  • Light weight fleece
  • Packable rain jacket

I realize this seems like a lot of clothing but technIcally I am following the “don’t pack it if you won’t wear it three times” rule. (not hard to do if you are gone for 40 days). You would be very proud of me if you saw the pile of clothes I eliminated from the suitcase.

Toiletries

This is the second heaviest area of my luggage. I saved weight by pouring my liquids into bottles smaller than 3oz and really editing what I considered essential. I use sheercover makeup which is lightweight and doesn’t need to be included in a 3-1-1 bag and it all packs into a lovely travel makeup bag that my Mom sent in the mail today. Thanks Mom!

Much of the weight here is from dental equipment. Last year I got braces and keeping them clean and shiny means I need to pack a water pick and all other sorts of fun orthodontic accessories. Not fun but I can’t wait to see the results!

Electronics

Evan is carrying most of our equipment but I have been entrusted with the iPad and a small point and shoot camera (perfect for carrying around in a pocket and taking pictures of all the delicious food we eat for Marylynn)

I also decided to bring a flat iron. Evan bought me a special bag that I can pack it in even if it is hot and I have learned to use it as a curling iron as well as a straightener. I felt guilty for bringing it but it fits perfectly in the little trough where my luggage Handel attaches to the bag.

The bags

I decided I didn’t want to carry a backpack but ebags made the same bag Evan is carrying in a wheeled duffel. It has worked well on trips to Florida and I expect it to be very durable on our trip.

I wasnt sure what I would need in a day bag. I am not carrying heavy camera equipment but I needed something that could hold a jacket, souvenirs, or groceries for a picnic. I looked everywhere for the perfect bag and finally found it at compass trading company. The best thing about the bag is that the straps allow it to convert from an over the shoulder purse to a backpack. the only thing I would change is the color. The slate and leather combination isn’t bad but I was really hoping for an all leather look.

I am pretty proud that I managed to fit everything into my carry on and i couldnt have done it without your help. Evan was so inspired by the comments from the last post that he removed a pair of pants and two shirts. Here is our home on wheels for the next month and a half. Don’t you think mine looks smaller than Evan’s?

I am so thankful to my Mom, Dad, and Uncle Paul for making this trip possible. It is a once in a lifetime journey tha I get to take with my wonderful husband. Love you all!

— Jen

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized